Two days in and it feels like home

I have only been at Captured Time for two full days and it already feels like home.  When I first walked in to have an interview with Harvey and Aimee I really didn’t know what to expect.  I thought that my early experience with the production company was going to be a rather intimidating one.  Since the interview and the first two days of officially being an intern here I am happy to say that I feel really comfortable with working at Captured Time.  I am assigned tasks for the company from the moment I arrive at 8:45 in the morning until I leave around 5 in the early evening.  It has reinforced my anticipations that any production company has a lot of work, hours, and well-rounded experience to offer.  I am already doing organizational tasks such as putting what seems like billions of the company’s business cards into binders where they can easily be referenced.  I even had a chance to do something unfamiliar.  This morning I had an early session of logging video, which was a new concept and format of tracking video that I am happy to have learned.  In just two days I have seen how the production company operates and how the office is the pulsating heart of the production’s flow and efficiency.

On the first day I was exposed to the company’s work because I had the opportunity to watch Dislecksia: The Movie.  At this point I have seen it at least three times and I must say that it is very well done.  The nicest part about the film is how it is personally constructed.  Harvey is a dyslexic himself and so of course, the film explores the adversity of both a dyslexic population and that of the filmmaker.  The film will definitely educate a relatively unaware public whenever and wherever it is screened.  I didn’t know very much about dyslexia except that it makes an individual struggle with reading.  It was surprising to learn how many famous and successful people have dyslexia as an everyday obstacle.  For example, the idea of Billy Bob Thornton as a dyslexic seems like practical joke since his acting implies a lifetime of reading and memorizing written screenplays.  The documentary also carefully points out that many individuals who are dyslexic never are lucky enough to become successful or famous because they are told at a young age that they are ill and diseased.  This lack of self-confidence may deter dyslexics who are completely normal and capable of success from making valid endeavors.  The documentary is a first-hand account and great insight to what it is like to experience dyslexia and hopefully by working at Captured Time I can see it make a difference in the lives of dyslexics and spread awareness to others.

Captured Time is definitely going to be a positive experience for me.  All of the people here are warm and friendly.  Harvey is a talented filmmaker who can teach me a lot about the industry I want to involve my life in.  Since I’ve already learned a few things in just two days I can only imagine what’s in store for the rest of my internship and time with Captured Time.  Only time will tell.

Joe S

Leave a comment