Reading websites in Japanese and Hebrew is pretty tough.

I wasn’t really sure what to expect when I started at Captured Time. It took me a few days to get settled in but by the end of my first week I started on my first project. I had to organize all of Harvey’s 5000 Facebook friends into a map by state and by country. When I first heard this I thought I was going to be making spreadsheets in Excel, what I found out was that we had 5000 pieces of paper with Harvey’s friends’ names and profile pictures on them. I spent a few weeks organizing them into their respective locations, and then I had to alphabetize all them. Once this was completed I had to glue all of the little pieces of paper to bigger pieces of card stock so that we could organize them into binders for Harvey to take with him when he goes on trips.  All in all it took about 3 weeks, working on and off, to complete all of the binders. I couldn’t have been happier to see them finished.

After that I spent a lot of my days logging tapes from the various film festivals and events. I had never logged before coming here. It took me a few times to get the rhythm of it but I finally got the hang of it, and I got plenty of practice. We had a lot of footage to log and it seemed like every time I came in there was more footage.

In trying to get Dislecksia: The Movie distributed we wanted to contact as many people as possible. We wanted to talk to anyone who could help get the movie out to the public. But before we could start making calls we needed to get phone numbers and email addresses for all the hundreds of sales agents and distributors. That task fell on me and the other interns, we spent hours in the back room googling and searching for any information that we could. Reading websites in Japanese and Hebrew is pretty tough.

I can’t even count the number of times that I went to Dunkin Donuts to pick up coffee, mostly for Rio. But she would always buy me a coffee so it was a great deal. I had a great time with the Captime crew and the other interns. We had a good time in the back room watching Dislecksia: The Movie 5 or 6 times a day. I think I have seen it well over 100 times this summer, we can all quote it pretty much line for line by now. Overall I think I learned quite a bit about what goes into promoting and trying to sell an independent film. It was great to get some experience in the field and I don’t think I will forget this summer or Dislecksia: The Movie. 

Jeremy S. 

Leave a comment